Skip to Content

Frequently asked questions

Water Seepage Problem

Water seepage from ceiling
Water seepage from ceiling
Water seepage from external wall
Water seepage from external wall

Common causes of water seepage:

  1. Leakage in the drainage pipes of the upper, adjacent or your own flat.
  2. Leakage in the water supply pipes of the upper, adjacent or your own flat.
  3. Defective or deteriorated waterproofing of floor slabs or bath-tub sealants.
  4. Seepage of rain water through roof / podium / balcony / external wall / window of buildings.

In most cases, water seepage is caused by leakage from defective water pipes, sanitary fitments or drainage pipes. Usually, these defects can be rectified by simple repair works. Owners should directly engage a building technician or licensed plumber to identify the cause of seepage for prompt repairs. Please also refer to the investigation methods in the "Do It Yourself to Investigate Water Seepage" pamphlet as published by the Joint Office of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and the Buildings Department (the Joint Office).

Owners have the responsibility for maintaining and managing their building, which include resolving any seepage problem. You should quickly approach your neighbour for investigation and repair work to resolve the problem if the seepage is suspected to originate from the flat on the upper floor or next door. Besides, assistance may be sought from the property management company or the Owners' Corporation of your building. Where necessary, you should with the engagement of a building professional or legal consultant request the responsible person to stop the seepage in accordance with the provisions under the Deed of Mutual Covenant, or even lodge a claim for damages.

If you cannot resolve the problem of water seepage with your neighbour, please call 1823 for assistance. Upon receipt of the seepage report, the Joint Office will carry out a preliminary investigation. If the seepage has posed a sanitary nuisance, the Joint Office will act in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132). If the seepage is mild or intermittent or if the source of seepage cannot be identified after investigation, Joint Office's intervention will cease.

The Joint Office (JO) will invoke statutory powers bestowed upon it by relevant legislation to investigate if a seepage case contravenes the legal requirements. If there is no concrete evidence to prove that the case violates relevant legal requirements, JO will have no legal basis to take enforcement action.

The owners/occupants could also refer to the "Notes to Owners/Occupants on the general procedures for investigating water seepage" prepared by the Joint Office, as follows:

The Joint Office aims to provide a "one-stop" service in dealing with reports of water seepage in buildings. Its role is to enforce the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) in abating any nuisance caused by water seepage. If necessary, the Joint Office will refer cases to the Buildings Department (BD) or the Water Supplies Department (WSD) for follow up action. For example, the BD will tackle the problem of building dilapidations and defective drains under the Buildings Ordinance (Cap. 123), while WSD will check if there is any wastage of water under the Waterworks Ordinance (Cap. 102).

According to the investigation procedure, the Joint Office will contact the informant within six working days upon receipt of a report. The staff will first inspect the premises and then enter the flat under report to carry out non-destructive tests systematically attempting to identify the seepage source. For simple and straightforward cases with the co-operation of the concerned owners/occupiers, the Joint Office normally will complete the investigation including testing and inform the informant of the outcome within 90 working days. If the investigation cannot be completed within 90 working days, the Joint Office will notify the informant of the investigation progress in writing.

The Joint Office has been authorised to enforce the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132). Where the source of seepage posing a health nuisance is identified, the person concerned will be issued with a Nuisance Notice requiring the abatement of nuisance within a specified period of time, failing which the person will be subject to prosecution. Upon conviction, the person concerned is liable to a maximum fine of $10,000 and a daily fine of $200. The Joint Office may also apply to the Court for a Nuisance Order requiring the person concerned to abate the nuisance. Failure to comply with the order will result in prosecution. Upon conviction, the penalty will be a maximum fine of $25,000 and a daily fine of $450.

When handling a seepage report, the cooperation of all parties concerned is essential to allow the investigation officer access for testing and collecting evidence inside both the informant’s flat as well as the other flat suspected to be causing seepage in order to identify the seepage source. Depending on the circumstances, it may be necessary to conduct several tests and collect different samples for examination. If the owner/occupant concerned refuses to co-operate, the investigation process may be extended as the Joint Office will have to apply to the Court for a warrant to enter the flat in question.

If owners wish to obtain copies of the concerned investigation reports for water seepage, request may be made under the Code on Access to Information. The applicant should submit an application form to the Joint Office through mail, facsimile or e-mail. The application form can be downloaded from BD's website at http://www.info.gov.hk/forms/ati.pdf, or obtained from the Joint Office or the BD, as detailed below:

Address of the Joint Office and the BD
Address Service Hours E-mail / Fax
Hong Kong Regional Joint Office
(Eastern, Wanchai, Central & Western, Southern, Islands)
9/F, The Hub, 23 Yip Kan Street, Wong Chuk Hang, Hong Kong. Monday to Friday:
9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday:
Closed
hkrjo@fehd.gov.hk / 2180 6758
Kowloon Regional Joint Office
(Kowloon City, Sham Shui Po, Mong Kok, Yau Tsim, Wong Tai Sin, Kwun Tong)
Suite 7B-10A, 21/F, Skyline Tower, No. 39 Wang Kwong Road, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon Monday to Friday:
9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday:
Closed
krjo@fehd.gov.hk / 3156 2099
New Territories West Regional Joint Office
(Kwai Tsing, Tsuen Wan, Tuen Mun, Yuen Long)
26/F, The Octagon, 6 Sha Tsui Road, Tsuen Wan, New Territories Monday to Friday:
9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday:
Closed
ntwrjo@fehd.gov.hk / 3150 8368
Joint Office 3
(Tai Po, Sha Tin, Sai Kung, North)
Rm 310, 3/F, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Nam Cheong Offices and Vehicle Depot, 87 Yen Chow Street West, Kowloon Monday to Friday:
9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday:
Closed
jo3gr@fehd.gov.hk / 3104 4610
Buildings Department G/F, Buildings Department Headquarters, North Tower, West Kowloon Government Offices, 11 Hoi Ting Road, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon Monday to Friday:
8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday:
Closed
enquiry@bd.gov.hk / 2537 4992

As the information requested is not publications which are available free of charge, the following photocopying fee will be levied:

For copying Stage I and II investigation reports, the photocopying charges are listed on the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department's webpage below:
https://www.fehd.gov.hk/english/department/code_on_access_info_proce.html

For copying Stage III investigation reports, the photocopying charges are as follows:

Fee
Fee (HK$) #
Copying report Handling charge * Photocopying charge
Black and white copy $5.1 per sheet $1.3 per sheet
Colour copy $5.1 per sheet $2.7 per sheet
Note:
# The fees are subject to revision from time to time.
* The handling charge for each investigation report will be capped at $229.5 (i.e. the handling charge of 45 sheets).

Water seepage is usually caused by defective building fabric or installations and the lack of proper building maintenance. As it is the responsibility of the owners / occupiers to maintain their buildings and to ensure environmental hygiene, their co-operation in resolving water seepage problems is essential. While the Joint Office would assist in identifying the source of seepage, the owners /occupiers can cooperate to engage building professionals or consultant firms for carrying out the investigation, identifying the source of seepage, and conducting necessary repair works to resolve the water seepage problems. The building related institutes and organizations have experienced building professionals / consultant firms providing related services to the general public. Among the building related institutes, The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (HKIS) proactively informs that their experienced professional members / building surveying consultant firms are willing to provide such services. The following hyperlinks are provided by the HKIS.

  1. List of Consultancy Firms provide Advice on Water Seepage Problem
    https://www.hkis.org.hk/hkis/general/bsd/companylist/BS%20Company%20List202005_11.pdf
  2. List of Experts on Water Seepage Investigation
    https://www.hkis.org.hk/en/experts.html?category=1
Disclaimer:
Owners are responsible for making their own assessment of all information in the Lists. The HKIS should be contacted should there be any queries on any matters regarding the Lists. The Lists are complied, maintained and provided by the HKIS. The Government of the HKSAR plays no part in the compilation of the Lists and shall not be responsible for any inaccuracies in the Lists nor any errors/incomplete information arising from the hyperlinks nor any loss or damage whatsoever arising out of or in connection with any information or the performance of the service providers in the Lists. The service providers in the Lists should not be regarded as endorsed or recommended by the BD or the Government of the HKSAR nor imply that the Government of the HKSAR promotes their expertise or their business.

If water seepage problems involve the water supply system, owners may appoint a licensed plumber under the Waterworks Regulations (Cap. 102A) for checking the system and carrying out the necessary repair works. The Licensed Plumber Directory is available on the following webpage of the Water Supplies Department (WSD):
http://www.wsd.gov.hk/en/plumbing-engineering/licensed-plumbers/index.html

The WSD will not intervene in a private dispute arising from a mild water seepage nuisance where there is no evidence of waste of water. In that case, you can consider approaching the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (Tel: 2525 2381) to assist in conciliation. If necessary, you can also seek legal advice from your lawyer to see whether civil proceedings should be instituted.

Under normal circumstances, seepage originated from penetration of rainwater through roofs, flat roofs, balconies, external walls or windows of a building or from leaking water pipes will not cause any public health implications and is not nuisance actionable by the Joint Office under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (PHMSO) (Cap. 132). The Joint Office will not follow up the seepage report in accordance with the established procedure. Having said that, the Joint office will advise the Incorporated Owners to arrange building professionals to inspect the conditions of the external walls/main roof of the building and registered contractors to carry out necessary repair works. If necessary, the Joint Office will refer the case to the Buildings Department for follow up action on building safety problem.

Water seepage investigation will generally be conducted in three stages. Staff of the Joint Office will visit the premises concerned to carry out Stage I and II investigations. If the source of water seepage could not be identified, the Joint Office will in the Stage III investigation arrange for an outsourced consultant to visit the premises concerned to carry out investigation and tests. The Joint Office will issue a letter to inform the occupants of the premises concerned in advance of such an arrangement and provide the names and contact telephone numbers of the staff of the Joint Office and the consultant responsible for the case and a sample of the consultant's staff card. The consultant's staff visiting the premises concerned should bring along their staff cards for identification and verification by the public. The staff cards are issued by the Joint Office and the contact telephone numbers of the Joint Office and the consultant are shown on the staff card to enable the public to make enquiries.

The names and contact numbers of the outsourced consultants employed by the Joint Office for carrying out water seepage investigation are listed as follows:

If you have any doubt regarding the authenticity of the Joint Office's letters or the identity of the consultant's staff, you can contact the Joint Office at 3691 8479 (Hong Kong), 3156 1942 (Kowloon), 3104 2571 (New Territories East) and 3150 8370 (New Territories West).


Download Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to read the publications in PDF format.
Download Adobe Acrobat Reader
Top

跳至内容的开始

常见问题

渗水问题

常见渗水原因:

  1. 楼上、毗邻或本身单位的排水管漏水。
  2. 楼上、毗邻或本身单位的供水管漏水。
  3. 楼板防水层或浴缸封边欠妥或残损。
  4. 雨水经由大厦天台/平台/露台/外墙/窗户渗入。

渗水大多是由欠妥的水管、卫生设备或排水渠管渗漏造成,通常简单修葺工程便可纠正。业主应直接聘请建筑技术人员或持牌水喉匠,确定渗水原因,迅速加以修理。请参考由食物环境卫生署及屋宇署组成的联合办事处(联办处)编印的「自行勘测渗水」小册子内的检测方法。

业主有责任维修和管理其楼宇,包括解决渗水问题。如怀疑渗水源自楼上或毗邻单位,应尽快与有关住户商讨,要求调查渗水原因和进行维修工程,解决渗水问题。此外,亦可向大厦管理公司或业主立案法团求助。必要时聘请建筑专业人士或法律顾问,根据大厦公契条文要求负责人士停止渗水,甚至提出索偿。

如无法与邻居协商解决渗水问题,可致电「1823」求助。联办处在接获渗水举报后,会作出初步调查。如渗水构成卫生妨扰,联办处会根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)的相关条文行事。如渗水情况轻微或属间歇性,或调查未能找出渗水源头,联办处会终止介入。

联办处会根据相关法例赋与的权力调查有关渗水个案有否违反法例的规定。倘若没有确实证据显示该个案违反相关法例的规定,联办处便无法律依据采取执法行动。

楼宇业主/住户就须注意事项,可参考以下联办处编印的「调查渗水的一般程序」。

联办处会安排「一站式」的服务,处理楼宇渗水举报。联办处的职责是执行《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)的相关条文,减除渗水卫生妨扰。如有需要,亦会把个案转介屋宇署或水务署作跟进。例如,屋宇署会按《建筑物条例》(第123章)处理楼宇失修及排水渠欠妥的问题,而水务署则按《水务设施条例》(第102章)制止浪费食水的情况。

根据调查工作程序,联办处会在接获举报后6个工作天内联络举报人。职员会先作现场视察,然后进入被举报的单位,有系统地进行非破坏式测试,以尝试确定渗水源头。就简单容易处理的个案并且得到有关业主/住户的合作,调查及测试工作通常可于90个工作天内完成,以及将结果通知举报人。如未能于90个工作天内完成调查,联办处会书面告知举报人有关调查进展。

联办处获授权执行《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)的相关条文。在确定构成卫生妨扰的渗水源头后,可发出「妨扰事故通知」予有关人士,规定在指明期限内减除妨扰,否则有关人士会被检控;一经定罪,最高可处罚款10,000元,另加每日罚款200元。联办处亦可向法庭申请「妨扰事故命令」,命令有关人士减除妨扰。如有关人士没有遵从法庭命令,会被检控;一经定罪,最高可处罚款25,000元,另加每日罚款450元。

处理渗水举报时,调查人员需要各方合作,以便进入举报人单位及怀疑引致渗水的单位进行测试和收集证据,以确定渗水源头。视乎渗水情况,可能需要作出多次测试和收集多个样本作化验。对拒绝合作的业主/住户,联办处会向法庭申请手令进入有关单位调查,所需的时间可能因而延长。

业主如欲索取有关的渗水调查报告的副本,可根据《公开资料守则》向联办处提出要求。申请人需要填写申请表格,然后将申请表格以邮寄、传真或电邮送回联办处。有关申请表格可于本署网站https://www.access.gov.hk/filemanager/content/howtomakeinfo/ati.pdf下载,或到联办处索取,详情如下:

联办处及屋宇署地址
地址 服务时间 电邮地址/传真号码
香港区联合办公室
(东区、湾仔区、中西区、南区、离岛区)
香港黄竹坑业勤街23号9楼 星期一至五:
上午9时00分至下午12时30分
下午1时30分至下午5时
星期六、日及公众假期:休息
hkrjo@fehd.gov.hk
2180 6758
九龙区联合办公室
(九龙城区、深水埗区、旺角区、油尖区、黄大仙区、观塘区)
九龙九龙湾宏光道39号宏天广场21楼7B-10A 室 星期一至五:
上午9时00分至下午12时30分
下午1时30分至下午5时
星期六、日及公众假期:休息
krjo@fehd.gov.hk
3156 2099
新界西联合办公室
(葵青区、荃湾区、屯门区、元朗区)
新界荃湾沙咀道6号嘉达环球中心26楼 星期一至五:
上午9时00分至下午12时30分
下午1时30分至下午5时
星期六、日及公众假期:休息
ntwrjo@fehd.gov.hk
3150 8368
新界东联合办公室
(大埔区、沙田区、西贡区、北区)
新界沙田沙田乡事会路138号新城市中央广场第二座21楼2101-2103及2111-2121室 星期一至五:
上午9时00分至下午12时30分
下午1时30分至下午5时
星期六、日及公众假期:休息
nterjo@fehd.gov.hk
3426 3411

由于索取的资料并非免费提供的刊物,有关申请会收取以下复印费用:

索取第一阶段及第二阶段渗水调查报告的收费可参阅食物环境卫生署网页:
https://www.fehd.gov.hk/tc_chi/department/code_on_access_info_proce.html

索取第三阶段渗水调查报告的收费如下:

费用
订明费用 (港币) #
复印报告 手续费 * 影印费
黑白复印本 每页 5.1元 每页 1.3元
彩色复印本 每页 5.1元 每页 2.7元
注:
# 订明费用会不时作出调整。
* 每份渗水调查报告的复印服务手续费上限为229.5元,即相当于45页的费用。

楼宇渗水一般是由于楼宇和设施破损及缺乏维修所致,而维修保养楼宇及保持环境卫生是业主及住户的责任。要彻底解决渗水问题,是需要有关业主/住户的合作。除了透过联办处的协助寻找渗水源头,有关业主和住户可以透过互相合作,委聘专业人士/顾问公司提供相关服务,包括渗水调查及寻找渗水源头,并进行所需的维修,以解决渗水滋扰。坊间与建筑相关的专业学会或机构,有富经验的专业人士/顾问公司可向市民提供相关服务。在这些专业学会当中,香港测量师学会表示一些有经验的会员/顾问公司乐意提供相关服务,以下的网站由香港测量师学会提供:

  1. 提供专业意见解决渗水问题的顾问公司名单
    https://www.hkis.org.hk/hkis/general/bsd/companylist/BS%20Company%20List202005_11.pdf
  2. 专家(勘测渗水)名单
    https://www.hkis.org.hk/tc/experts.html?category=1
免责声明
业主须负责自行评估名单所载的一切资料;如对有关名单相关事宜有疑问,应联络香港测量师学会。有关名单是由香港测量师学会所编制、备存和提供。香港特区政府没有参与编制有关名单,亦不会对有关名单的不准确之处,或超连结产生的错误或不完整资料,或因有关名单所载的服务提供者的资料或其表现而引致或所涉及的损失或损害负责。有关服务提供者的名单,不应视为已获屋宇署或香港特区政府认许或推荐,亦不应视为香港特区政府意味推广其专门知识或其商业服务。

若渗水问题涉及供水系统,业主可委聘《水务设施规例》(第102A章)下订明的持牌水喉匠为供水系统进行检查及所需维修。持牌水喉匠名册可于以下水务署网站找到:
http://www.wsd.gov.hk/tc/plumbing-engineering/licensed-plumbers/index.html

水务署不会介入没有证据显示浪费供水但又有轻微渗水滋扰的私人纠纷。在此情况下,你可以考虑请香港国际仲裁中心协助调解(电话:2525 2381),若情况证明需要,你也可谘询律师寻求法律意见以看应否提出民事诉讼。

由天雨经大厦天台、平台、露台、外墙或窗户所引致的渗漏,以及供水喉管破损引致渗水,在正常情况下,皆不会构成公众卫生的滋扰问题,联合办事处不会引用《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132 章)采取执法行动。联合办事处按既定程序需停止跟进个案。尽管如此,联合办事处会劝喻大厦业主立案法团安排检查其大厦天台或外墙的状况及进行所需的修葺工程。如有需要,联合办事处亦会把个案转介屋宇署以处理楼宇安全的问题。

调查渗水个案一般分三个阶段进行。联办处人员会到相关处所进行第一阶段及第二阶段的调查,倘未能找出渗水原因,该处会在第三阶段调查委派合约顾问公司到相关处所调查及进行测试,并会先致函予有关处所的住户,告知有关安排、提供负责有关个案的联办处人员和顾问公司职员的姓名及联络电话,以及夹附顾问公司职员证的样本。顾问公司职员到有关处所调查时均会带备其职员证,以资识别及供公众核实其身分。该职员证由联办处签发,并列出联办处及合约顾问公司的联络电话,以便公众查询。

获联办处委聘进行渗水调查的顾问公司名单及联络电话如下:

如对任何联办处信件的真确性或顾问公司职员的身分有怀疑,可致电联办处(电话号码:3691 8479(香港区);3156 1942(九龙区);3426 3346(新界东);3150 8370(新界西))。


请下载 Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 以阅读有关文件。
下载 Adobe Acrobat Reader
返回页首