Skip to Content

Epidemic Prevention Information

Drainage Systems

Buildings Department (BD) reminds building owners not to carry out illegal alteration works to the drainage system in their premises. They include illegal addition to drain pipes due to alteration to the layout of the kitchen or bathroom, or removal of anti-syphonage pipes in the water closet or bottle traps with anti-syphonage air valves in the wash basin. The design and construction of the drainage system are subject to control under the Buildings Ordinance (BO). It should be noted that facilities including the water closet, bathtub/shower tray, floor drain, wash-up sink or wash basin must be fitted with an effective water seal (such as a trap with anti-syphonage provision) to prevent foul odour in drain pipes from drifting into the premises. Waste water produced in our daily lives, such as those from the wash basin or bathtub, can be discharged directly into a hopper head in an external wall. The fitting of anti-syphonage devices is not required. However, this drainage arrangement is not applicable to sewage from the water closet.

Common renovation works involving repair or replacement of internal branch pipes or sanitary fitments (such as water closets, wash basins or bathtubs) are exempted building works. The carrying out of these works is not subject to the Minor Works Control System (MWCS). However, suitable contractors registered under the BO should be appointed in accordance with the MWCS for repairing external pipes or internal main pipes.

Building owners who wish to erect, alter or remove the drainage system (including the anti-syphonage pipes) in their premises may so pursue in accordance with the simplified requirements under the Minor Works Control System by appointing suitable contractors registered under the Buildings Ordinance so as to ensure that the drainage system in their premises are in compliance with the provisions of the Buildings Ordinance and the relevant regulations. These include every sanitary fitment (such as the water closet, wash basin and bathtub) should be provided with an effective water seal (such as a trap with anti-syphonage provision). Such requirements are also applicable to the erection or alteration to drain pipes involved in sub-divided flats.

The contractors registered under the Buildings Ordinance for such kind of works shall satisfy the requirements of the Buildings Department (BD) on qualification, competency and experience. Any person other than a qualified registered contractor or a person acting under the supervision of a qualified registered contractor, who, without reasonable excuse, certifies or carries out minor works shall be guilty of an offence. Furthermore, BD has reminded registered contractors the requirements on drainage works in the Technical Guidelines on Minor Works Control System. The registered contractors shall comply with the relevant statutory and safety requirements when carrying out, supervising the works and certifying completion of works. They shall also submit the certificate of completion of works and relevant information to BD.

To ensure the quality of works, the Buildings Department (BD) will randomly select completed minor works for checking, which includes checking of submitted documents and site audit as necessary. The audit check system is risk-based, focusing on minor works items that are more complicated and involving a higher level of risk. BD will increase site audit on minor works involving alteration of drainage systems in building units in order to enhance the monitoring of such kind of minor works.

If contravention of the provisions of the Buildings Ordinance is found during the audit check, BD will take enforcement action including requiring the concerned persons to rectify and instigating prosecution and disciplinary actions against the concerned persons as necessary.

Traps and anti-syphonage pipes/anti-syphonage air valves play an important role in the drainage system. When a trap is filled with water, water seal is formed and prevents foul odour in drain pipes from entering the premises. Furthermore, an anti-syphonage pipe/anti-syphonage air valve connected to a trap is to balance air pressure. When the volume of sewage discharged from the upper flat reaches a certain level, the siphonage effect will occur, creating a negative air pressure in the branch pipes in the lower flat which is able to suck out the water seal in the trap of the sanitary fitment. An anti-syphonage pipe, which must be unsealed and extended to more than 1 metre above the roof, allows air to move towards the connected branch pipe and balance the differential air pressure brought by the siphonage effect. It thus prevents loss of the water seal in the trap and ensure the proper functioning of the trap. The function of the anti-syphonage air valve is the same as that of the anti-syphonage pipe. Illegal alteration to a trap or an anti-syphonage pipe/anti-syphonage air valve may suck out the water seal in the trap, causing the emission of drain pipe stenches into the premises.

Bathroom configuration

U-shaped trap with anti-syphonage air valve

Bottle trap with anti-syphonage air valve

The water closet, wash basin and bathtub are frequently used in daily life so dried traps are not usually found. However, the situation of the floor drain is totally different. If the drain has not been used for a long time or occupants forget to pour water into the drain regularly, the water seal in the trap will evaporate gradually and lose its capability for preventing foul odour from entering the premises. Therefore, the Buildings Department reminds occupants to pour about half a litre of water into each floor drain at home at least once a week to ensure the water seal in the trap functions properly.

If occupants suspect irregularities in the drainage system of their premises, such as odour from the drainage outlet or anti-syphonage pipe, seepage or cracks at the drainage pipes, they should arrange qualified contractors to conduct checking and repair as soon as possible. Buildings Department (BD) has formulated a set of guidelines reminding the public on the proper maintenance and repair of drainage pipes including traps, which is available on the department's webpage:

BD will continue its work on stepping up public education and publicity to enhance public’s understanding about the drainage system and its proper repair and maintenance.

Other information

Press release

Pamphlet / Video / Information


Download Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to read the publications in PDF format.
Download Adobe Acrobat Reader
Top

跳至内容的开始

防疫资讯

渠管健康

屋宇署提醒楼宇业主不应擅自非法改动单位的排水系统,例如因改动厨房或浴室间隔而擅自加装的排水管,或拆除坐厕的反虹吸管或洗手盆备有反虹吸气阀的樽形隔气弯管,因为排水系统的设计及建造受《建筑物条例》规管,特别需要注意是坐厕、浴缸/企缸、地台去水口、洗碗盆或洗手盆等设施,必须要有有效的水封(water seal),例如隔气弯管(trap)及反虹吸(anti-syphonage)的设施,防止排水管内的臭气散发至室内。如日常生活上使用过的水(例如从洗手盆或浴缸排放的废水),可以直接排入外墙废水斗,而无需要有反虹吸(anti-syphonage)的设施,但有关排水安排并不适用于从坐厕排放的污水。

一般修葺或更换室内的分支排水管或卫生设备(例如坐厕、洗手盆或浴缸)属豁免审批建筑工程,无须遵照小型工程监管制度便可进行。但若要修葺室外的排水管或室内的主要排水管,则必须根据小型工程监管制度,委任《建筑物条例》下注册的合适承建商进行相关工程。

楼宇业主如想竖设、改动或拆除其单位的排水系统,包括反虹吸管(anti-syphonage pipe),可按「小型工程监管制度」的简化规定,委任在《建筑物条例》下注册的合适承建商进行,以确保单位的排水系统符合《建筑物条例》及其相关规例的规定,包括卫生设备(例如坐厕、洗手盆、浴缸)须有有效的水封(water seal)(例如隔气弯管(trap)及反虹吸(anti-syphonage)的设施)。有关规定同样适用于分间单位(俗称「劏房」)所涉及的排水管竖设或改动工程。

在《建筑物条例》下注册进行此类工程的承建商均须符合署方要求的资格、能力及经验。任何并非合资格的注册承建商亦非在任何该等承建商监督之下行事的人无合理辩解而核证或进行小型工程,即属违法。此外,屋宇署亦在「小型工程监管制度之技术指引」中提醒注册承建商有关排水系统的规定。注册承建商须遵守相关法例和安全规定进行工程、监督及核证已完成的工程,以及向屋宇署提交完工证明书及相关资料。

为保障工程质素,屋宇署会随机抽查审核完成的小型工程,包括呈交的文件及按需要进行实地审查。抽查机制以风险为本,集中审核比较复杂及风险较高的小型工程项目。屋宇署会增加涉及改动楼宇单位排水系统小型工程的实地审查,以加强对该类小型工程的监管。

在审核过程中如发现有违反《建筑物条例》规定的情况,屋宇署便会采取执法行动,包括着令相关人士更正有关违规事项及在有需要时向相关人士提出检控或纪律处分。

隔气弯管及反虹吸管/反虹吸气阀在排水系统中有很重要的作用。隔气弯管的作用是透过贮水形成水封,阻隔排水管内的臭气进入室内。至于接驳隔气弯管的反虹吸管/反虹吸气阀的作用是平衡气压,当上层单位排放的污水量达到某一水平时,会产生虹吸效应,令下层单位的分支渠管出现负气压,足以抽走单位卫生设备隔气弯管内的水封。由于反虹吸管必须伸延至楼宇天台不少于1米之上,不会密封,空气便可经反虹吸管流入所接驳的分支排水管内,平衡虹吸效应造成的气压差,防止隔气弯管内的水封流失,确保隔气弯管有效运作,而反虹吸气阀的作用与反虹吸管相同。擅自非法改动隔气弯管或反虹吸管/反虹吸气阀可能引致隔气弯管内的水封消失,排水管内的臭气便会进入室内。

浴室间隔

U形隔气弯管及反虹吸气阀

樽形隔气弯管及反虹吸气阀

由于坐厕、洗手盆及浴缸因日常生活所需而经常使用,其隔气弯管内的水封一般不会出现干涸情况,但地台去水口却大不相同,如果长时间没有使用,或忘记定期注入清水,隔气弯管内的水封会逐渐蒸发,失去阻挡臭气入屋的功效。所以屋宇署提醒住户要至少每星期在家中每个地台去水口注入约半公升清水,确保隔气弯管的水封可正常运作。

若住户怀疑其单位排水系统欠妥,例如单位排水口或反虹吸管出现异味、排水管渗漏或有裂缝等,应尽快安排合资格承建商进行检查及维修。就此,屋宇署已制定一套指引,提醒市民须妥善保养及维修排水管,包括隔气弯管。该指引可于屋宇署网页浏览:

屋宇署会继续加强公众教育及宣传的工作,提高市民对排水系统及其妥善保养维修的认识。

其他资讯

新闻公报

小册子/影片/资讯


请下载 Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 以阅读有关文件。
下载Adobe Acrobat Reader
返回页首