Skip to Content

Frequently asked questions

Statutory Orders

You may apply in writing to Buildings Department stating your grounds for extension of time. However, Buildings Department normally will not accede to such request (e.g. reason that the premises is subject to a tenancy agreement) except in very special cases and you are therefore advised to comply with the order without delay. Failure to comply with the order without reasonable excuse may result in prosecution and/or enforcement action by government to carry out the works on your behalf, and subsequently recover the cost of the works plus supervision charge and a surcharge from you.

Registration of statutory orders at the Land Registry is not a requirement under the Buildings Ordinance. Nevertheless, according to current practice, the Buildings Department will send statutory orders and their compliance records to the Land Registry for registration. You may check against the records kept by Land Registry (Please refer to The Land Registry – Frequently Asked Questions – Search http://www.landreg.gov.hk/en/faq/faq_search.htm). Some earlier statutory orders may not have been registered at the Land Registry. It should be noted that premises with no statutory orders does not necessarily mean that it is free of unauthorised buildings works (UBW). Moreover, prospective purchasers should conduct inspection of the premises concerned and check the corresponding approval plans and minor works records in the Buildings Department’s Building Information Centre or via the BRAVO system on the internet. Professional advice should also be sought as necessary to ensure that the premises is free of UBW. You may also check with the vendor for the related information or make enquiry to the Buildings Department.

It is the owner's responsibility to comply with orders issued by Building Authority. Only in an emergency or in owner's default of an Order would Buildings Department carry out works on his behalf and recover the cost of the works afterwards, plus supervision charge and surcharge from him. In default of the owners to comply with the Orders, Buildings Department may prosecute the owners who fail to comply with the Orders without reasonable excuse. Any person who fails, without reasonable excuse, to comply with an order shall be guilty of an offence under the Buildings Ordinance and he shall be liable on conviction to fine and imprisonment.

According to the government policy, no person shall be made homeless as a result of government actions. Despite rooftop structures are unauthorised, the Buildings Department in accordance with this policy, has arranged with the Housing Department, Social Welfare Department and the Home Affairs Department to offer rehousing and social assistance to the occupants. Regarding the type of rehousing eligible, this is the jurisdiction of the Housing Department and will be assessed according to the rehousing eligibility of the affected occupant concerned.

  1. If the owners do not comply with this Order, the Buildings Department will have the demolition work carried out by a Government contractor. They will then be billed for all costs plus a supervision charge and a surcharge.
  2. Not complying with the Statutory Order is a criminal offence with a maximum penalty of one year's imprisonment and a maximum fine of HK$200,000. For continuing offences, there is a further daily fine of HK$20,000.
  3. The Order will also be recorded in the Land Registry and, if the property is mortgaged, the financial institution concerned will be notified.

If you wish to make a statutory appeal under section 44 of the Buildings Ordinance, please note the following:

  1. You should serve your Notice of Appeal in writing directly on the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal to be received by him not later than 21 days after the date notification of the Building Authority’s decision is sent to you. The address of the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal is 17/F, West Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar, Hong Kong and his fax number is 2189 7334.
  2. You should also serve a copy of your notice of appeal on the Building Authority (please mark for the attention of Litigation Units / Legal Services Section, Buildings Department) (12/F-18/F Pioneer Centre, 750 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Fax No.: 2877 6416).
  3. Please take note that if you lodge a statutory appeal under section 44 of the Buildings Ordinance, you have to bear the resulting legal responsibilities and consequences. For instance, under section 51 of the said Ordinance, the Appeal Tribunal, on making an order under section 49(2) or section 50(2) of the said Ordinance, may make such order as to the costs as it thinks fit against you.
  4. The general enquiry telephone no. of the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal is 3509 7800. If you require advice on the law regarding the appeal, you should consult your lawyer.
  5. The Appeal Tribunal is NOT the Building Authority. It is generally NOT the function of the Appeal Tribunal to handle complaints, enquiries or negotiations regarding the Building Authority, nor to provide advisory, mediation, mitigation or investigation services to the Appellant.

This will be shown on your Order:

  1. Buildings Department will specify in the relevant removal order whether the appointment of Authorized Person (AP), Registered Specialist Contractor (RSC), and Registered Structural Engineer (RSE) is required to carry out the work and to advise and ensure that necessary safety measures are provided in case the work is involving the demolition of a building or of any substantial or significant part of a building.
  2. If the work does not involve the demolition of a building or of any substantial or significant part of a building, Buildings Department would not specify in the removal order that the appointment of AP, Registered Contractor (RC), and RSE is required. Instead, Buildings Department will only advise the owner for his own safety and that of the public to appoint Registered Contractor (RC) to carry out the work, and an AP or RSE to ensure the necessary safety measures are provided. Furthermore, the Building (Minor Works) Regulation has been implemented on 31 December 2010. Under the new Minor Works Control System (MWCS), any person intending to carry out minor works can follow the simplified procedures. For more details about MWCS, please call BD hotline 2626 1616 or BD's website
Top

跳至内容的开始

常见问题

法定命令

你可以书面形式向屋宇署提出申请,并述明延期理由。不过,除非是十分特殊的个案,否则,屋宇署通常不会批准这类要求(例如以"楼宇已出租"为理据)。因此,你应尽快遵从命令的规定,避免延误。如未能遵从命令的规定,又无合理解释,可被检控及/或由政府承建商代为进行有关工程。屋宇署其后会向你收回工程费用,另加监督费及附加费。

屋宇署将发出的法定命令在土地注册处注册并非《建筑物条例》的要求。然而,根据现行程序,屋宇署会将法定命令送交土地注册处登记,并会在命令获遵从后予以注销。你可查阅由土地注册处保存的记录(请参考土地注册处-常见问题-查册 http://www.landreg.gov.hk/tc/faq/faq_search.htm)。部份较早前发出的法定命令可能仍未在土地注册处登记。请注意,即使处所没有法定命令,亦不代表有关处所没有僭建物。此外,楼宇准买家须就其拟购入的物业进行视察及于屋宇署楼宇资讯中心或在互联网的「百楼图网」查阅相关批准图则及小型工程记录,并在有需要时向专业人士取得意见,以确保有关物业没有僭建物。你亦可向楼宇卖方索取有关资料或向屋宇署查询。

业主有责任遵从建筑事务监督发出的命令。只有在紧急情况下或业主不遵从命令时,屋宇署才会代为进行工程,然后向业主收回工程费用,另加监督费及附加费。对未有遵从命令而又没有合理辩解的业主,屋宇署可采取检控行动。根据《建筑物条例》,任何人无合理辩解而没有遵从命令,即属犯罪,一经定罪,可处罚款及监禁。

根据政府政策,没有人会因政府的行动而无家可归。虽然天台搭建物是违例的搭建物,但屋宇署已按照这项政策,与房屋署、社会福利署及民政事务总署作出安排,为有关占用人提供安置和社会保障援助。至于安置资格的类别,则属房屋署的管辖范围,该署会按照受影响占用人的安置资格作出评估。

  1. 如业主不遵从命令,屋宇署便会指示政府承建商代为清拆,并其后向业主悉数追讨工程费用,另加监督费及附加费。
  2. 不遵从法定命令属刑事罪行,最高刑罚为监禁1年及罚款港币200,000元。如违法情况持续,会被另处罚款每天港币20,000元。
  3. 有关命令亦会在土地注册处记录在案。物业如有按揭,有关的财务机构会获知会。

如你希望提出《建筑物条例》第44条下的法定上诉,请注意以下各点:

  1. 你应在建筑事务监督的决定通知书送交你之日后不迟于21天内,把上诉通知书直接送达上诉审裁小组秘书,地址:香港九龙弥敦道345号永安九龙中心10楼1005-06室,传真号码:3579 4971 。
  2. 你亦须把一份上诉通知书的文本送达建筑事务监督(请注明转交屋宇署法律事务组诉讼小组)(香港九龙弥敦道750号始创中心12-18楼, 传真号码:2877 6416)
  3. 请注意,如果你提出《建筑物条例》第44条下的法定上诉,你须承受所致的法律责任及后果。例如根据该条例第51条的规定,上诉审裁小组根据该条例第49(2)条或第50(2)条作出命令时,可就讼费对你作出其认为适合的命令。
  4. 上诉审裁小组秘书的一般查询电话为 3579 2270。如你就上诉的法律问题需要意见,应谘询你的律师。
  5. 上诉审裁小组并非建筑事务监督。一般而言,上诉审裁小组的功能并非处理有关建筑事务监督的投诉、查询或进行商讨,或向上诉人提供谘询、调解、求情或调查服务。

请参阅你的清拆令:

  1. 如清拆令要求拆卸一幢楼宇或拆卸一幢楼宇的任何大型或重要部分,屋宇署会在有关清拆令中指明业主是否须委聘认可人士、注册专门承建商及注册结构工程师进行工程、提供意见,以及确保提供所需的安全措施。
  2. 如清拆令要求的工程不涉及拆卸一幢楼宇或拆卸一幢楼宇的任何大型或重要部分,屋宇署在清拆令中不会指明业主须委聘认可人士、注册承建商及注册结构工程师。然而,为了个人和公众安全,屋宇署会建议业主委聘注册承建商进行工程,以及委聘认可人士或注册结构工程师确保提供所需的安全措施。再者,《建筑物(小型工程)规例》已于2010年12月31日实施。在新的「小型工程监管制度」下,拟进行小型工程的人士可透过简化程序进行。有关「小型工程监管制度」的详情,请致电屋宇署热线2626 1616或浏览本署网站
返回页首