Skip to Content

Frequently asked questions

Windows Maintenance

Aluminium windows do not have a specific life span. However, owners are urged to pay special attention to the conditions of individual parts of the window (e.g. bar hinges, screws and rivets, etc) and arrange for repair or replacement if needed. Through proper use, regular inspection and timely maintenance, the safety of aluminium windows can be assured.

According to the findings from the previous incidents of falling window, one of the major reasons is the failure of rivets/screws of the hinge due to corrosion or the wear and tear over time. Besides, lack of proper maintenance and improper use of aluminium windows are also the contributing factors for windows falling.

It is owner's responsibility to check and maintain their windows regularly to ensure safety. The owners may be held liable for personal injuries or property losses resulting from falling windows from their premises.

Under Section 4B of the Summary Offences Ordinance, if anything is dropped or allowed to fall from any building to cause danger or injury of any person in or near a public place, the person who drops that thing or allows it to fall commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for 6 months.

If the falling window causes injuries or loss of life, the victim or their family members may also claim compensation against the owner of the flat involved through civil proceedings.

A Qualified Person (QP) is an Authorized Person (AP), Registered Structural Engineer (RSE), Registered Inspector (RI), Registered General Building Contractor (RGBC) or Registered Minor Works Contractor (RMWC) registered for class, type and item of minor works in respect of windows. Please refer to BD’s website (http://www.bd.gov.hk) for details of the various registers of AP, RSE, RI, RGBC and RMWC and the reference list of QPs. With effect from 15 February 2016, the Buildings Department issues a QP Card for QP. For identification purpose, you may ask the QP to produce his/her QP card or the certification of registration under the relevant register; as well as to ensure the QP carries out the prescribed window inspection personally.

The standard of prescribed repair for windows shall not be inferior to that of the original design. However, you may also choose to upgrade the construction standard of the windows to meet the current requirements during the course of repair. All defective window components affecting window safety must be repaired or replaced. As for those window components not affecting safety e.g. weather sealant, weather gasket/strip, etc., they are not within the scope of prescribed inspection and repair under MWIS. The BD has published relevant standards and guidelines in relation of the MWIS, including the Code of Practice for the MBIS and the MWIS, General Guidelines on MBIS and MWIS, and Important Notes about Window Safety, to help facilitate building owners in understanding the requirements under MWIS and properly arranging inspection and necessary repair. Please refer to BD’s website for the details of various publications.

The cost of repair for windows varies with such factors as the building size, the number and size of windows in the building, their conditions of maintenance and repair. Some minor works contractor associations have compiled and published in their respective websites lists of their members willing to provide services as QPs and cost reference. Hyperlinks to the websites have been made available at BD webpage to facilitate easy access by the public. Some market information for window inspection and repair works   under the MWIS obtained from the quotations/advertising pamphlets provided by the QPs/ registered contractors are also published at BD webpage for general reference. Owners may obtain quotations with detailed cost breakdown from different QPs and registered contractors for cost reference and comparison.

As a consumer, you may make reference to the pamphlet published by the BD about owner’s right. If you are not satisfied with the services provided by the QP appointed, you may cease the appointment and re-appoint another QP to carry out the prescribed inspection / supervision and an independent registered contractor to carry out the prescribed repair found necessary. In respect of suspected irregularities, misconduct or negligence of the QP, you may report to the BD at telephone no. 2626 1616 (handled by 1823).

Under the MWIS, obstruction to windows due to decoration or furniture placed inside the building or individual premises cannot be considered as an excuse for exemption from the prescribed inspection. On the contrary, the condition of these windows may have been overlooked by the owners or occupants, thus posing a higher risk of danger to the public. Therefore, the owners have to arrange inspection to these windows to ensure public safety.

Rivets or screws found loosened/missing/with greyish white powder or rusting must be replaced. The renewed components shall be of such material and size not inferior to that of the original design and measures against bi-metallic action shall be provided. For better corrosion resistance, the best practice is to replace the defective or missing rivets or screws by stainless steel rivets or screws.

Top

跳至内容的开始

常见问题

窗户维修

窗户并没有特定的「寿命」。不过,业主应特别注意窗户个别组件(例如窗铰、螺丝和铆钉等)的情况,并在有需要时安排维修或更换。只有通过正确使用、定期检查和适时维修,才可确保窗户的安全。

根据过往窗户脱落事件的检讨所得,窗户脱落的主要原因之一是窗铰的螺丝╱铆钉因日久锈蚀或损耗而损坏所致。此外,窗户欠缺妥善保养和使用方法不正确也是造成窗户脱落的原因。

业主和住户有责任定期检查及保养其单位的窗户以确保窗户安全。若窗户脱落而引致他人受伤或财物损失,业主和住户可能要负上法律责任。

根据《简易程序治罪条例》第4B条的规定,如有人自建筑物掉下窗户,或容许窗户自建筑物堕下,以致对在公众地方之内或附近的人造成危险或损伤者,即属干犯刑事罪行,一经定罪,可处罚款港币10,000元及监禁6个月。

如脱落的窗户导致他人受伤或丧失生命,受害人或其家属可透过民事诉讼程序向有关的单位业主索取赔偿。

合资格人士是指认可人士、注册结构工程师、注册检验人员、注册一般建筑承建商或已就属于窗户的级别、类型及项目的小型工程注册的注册小型工程承建商。有关认可人士、注册结构工程师、注册检验人员、注册一般建筑承建商及注册小型工程承建商的各份名册的详情及一份供参考的合资格人士的名单,请浏览屋宇署网页(http://www.bd.gov.hk)。由2016 年2 月15 日起,屋宇署向合资格人士发出验窗卡。你可向合资格人士要求出示验窗卡或相关名册下的注册证明书,以核实其身份并确保该合资格人士亲自进行窗户的订明检验。

订明修葺以不逊于窗户原有的设计为标准。然而,你亦可选择在进行修葺的同时,一并提升窗户的建造标准至符合现时最新的要求。欠妥的窗户组成部分如影响窗户安全,一律须予以修葺或更换。对于那些不影响安全的窗户组成部分(例如防水密封剂、防水垫条/胶条等),它们并不是强制验窗计划下订明检验及修葺所涵盖的范围。为让市民更了解强制验窗计划的要求及安排检验及修葺,屋宇署已印制强制验窗计划相关的标准及指引,包括「强制验楼计划及强制验窗计划作业守则」、「强制验楼计划及强制验窗计划的一般指引」及「窗户安全须知」小册子。有关各刋物的内容,可浏览屋宇署网页。

有关窗户修葺工程费用的水平,会因应不同因素而有所分别,如楼宇大小、窗户的数量、损坏程度等。有部分小型工程承建商商会亦制备了名单,列出其愿意提供验窗服务的会员的收费,这些名单的超连结已上载到屋宇署网页,方便市民查阅。根据合资格人士/承建商提供的报价/广告单张,有关检验及修葺窗户的市场资讯已列载于屋宇署网页以供参考。业主可向不同的合资格人士及承建商索取详细报价,以作参考及比较。

作为消费者,你可以参考屋宇署印制有关检验及修葺窗户的市场资讯。如果你不满意已获委任的合资格人士的服务,你可终止其委任及重新委任另一名合资格人士进行订明检验/监督及独立承建商进行所需的订明修葺。如怀疑有人违规、行为失当或疏忽,你可致电2626 1616(由「1823」接听)向屋宇署举报。

在强制验窗计划下为窗户进行订明检验不能以窗户被楼宇或个别处所内的装修或家俱所阻挡为理由而获得豁免检验。相反而言,业主或占用人可能会忽略了该些窗户的安全情况,因而对公众构成较高的危险。因此,业主必须安排对此等窗户进行检验,以确保公众安全。

如铆钉或螺丝有松脱/缺漏/呈现灰白色粉状物质或锈蚀,就必须要更换。新更换组成部分的物料及大小须不逊于窗户原有设计,并须提供避免产生双金属效应的措施。为加强防锈蚀能力的考虑,最佳做法应以不锈钢铆钉或螺丝取代欠妥或缺漏的铆钉或螺丝。

返回页首