Skip to Content

Frequently asked questions

Alteration and Addition Works in Domestic Premises

According to the Buildings Ordinance (BO), any person who intends to carry out building works in private buildings (including A&A works in existing buildings) or on private land are required to submit plans to the Buildings Department (BD) for prior approval and consent, unless such works are exempted under section 41(3) of the BO or are carried out as minor works following the simplified requirements of the Minor Works Control System. Otherwise, the works are unauthorised building works (UBWs) which the BD will take enforcement against according to prevailing policy.

Carrying out exempted works in private buildings does not require prior approval and consent from the BD. However, no works should contravene the Building Regulations. Before commencement of building works, advice from building professionals, registered contractors and, when necessary, authorized persons should be sought for ensuring compliance with the BO.

The following are examples of the likely implications of carrying out A&A works in domestic premises from the perspective of the BO.

As it is a condition imposed under BO s 42 that the green balconies and utility platforms should not be enclosed in order that their areas can be exempted from gross floor areas calculations, enclosing such features above parapet height by windows, glass panels, grilles, solid walls or similar features would result in contravention of the condition of exemption and may result in contravention of the BO.

Installation of windows, grilles and/or glass panels for enclosure of balconies (other than green balconies)/ verandahs will be unacceptable if the works involve the structure of a building, or result in inadequate natural lighting and ventilation provisions to the premises, or result in contravention of fire safety requirements for balconies forming an integral part of an exit staircase, etc. Nonetheless, installation of openable windows enclosing balconies/verandahs (not applicable to green balconies/utility platforms and balconies forming integral part of an exit staircase) may be acceptable if:

  • the works do not involve the structure of a building (for example, structural members of the balcony/verandah would not be removed or altered);
  • the originally approved protective barrier in the form of parapet wall or metal railing would not be altered or removed;
  • the openable windows comply with the requirements for natural lighting and ventilation as stipulated in the Building (Planning) Regulations; and
  • the works are proceeded with in accordance with the simplified requirements of the MWCS.

Removal of the enclosing walls of a kitchen for conversion to an open kitchen may involve structural elements resulting in contravention of the BO. Such works may also contravene the fire safety requirements, if the open kitchen so converted is located near the main exit of the flat concerned, and pose safety risks to the occupants of the premises and other occupants of the same building.

Removal of partition walls in domestic premises should comply with the building standards stipulated in the building regulations including not involving the structure of the building.

Erection of partition walls in domestic premises should comply with the building standards stipulated in the building regulations including not causing overloading to the building and not affecting the means of escape in case of fire.

Erection of roof structures including trellis should comply with the building standards stipulated in the building regulations including not causing overloading to the building and not affecting the means of escape in case of fire. If the roof has been designed as a fire refuge area, such structures should also not contravene the fire safety requirements and pose safety risks to the occupants of the same building.

Furthermore, owners and occupants are also advised to observe other requirements such as the Deed of Mutual Covenant of the building prior to the carrying out of A&A works in their premises. If the works to be carried out involve the common part of a building, it is advisable that agreement from the Owners' Corporation, Mutual Aid Committee or the management companies as appropriate be sought prior to the carrying out of such works.

Apart from complying with the procedural requirements on submissions to the Buildings Department as mentioned in the leading paragraph, the alteration works to the common part of a building should also comply with the building standards stipulated in the Buildings Ordinance (BO) and Regulations such as not causing overloading to the building; not affecting the means of escape in case of fire, etc. Owners and occupants are advised to consult building professionals on the feasibility of the proposed alteration for compliance with the BO.

Furthermore, owners and occupants are also advised to check any restrictions as may be stipulated in the Deed of Mutual Covenant, and to obtain the agreement from the Owners’ Corporation, Mutual Aid Committee or the management company prior to the carrying out of the alteration works.

Top

跳至內容的開始

常見問題

住用處所的改動及加建工程

根據《建築物條例》的規定,任何涉及私人樓宇或私人土地上的建築工程(包括在現有樓宇加建及改建),除非符合《建築物條例》第41(3)條有關豁免工程的規定,或已根據「小型工程監管制度」的簡化規定而進行的小型工程,均須要先向本署呈交建築圖則,獲得批准及同意展開工程後才可以進行,否則便屬違例建築工程。屋宇署會按照現行的執法政策,取締違例建築工程。

至於在私人樓宇內進行豁免工程,雖然不需要本署審批,但工程仍不能違反相關建築物規例。在進行建築工程前,應先諮詢建築專業人士、註冊承建商,以及在有需要時諮詢認可人士,以確定符合《建築物條例》的規定。

就《建築物條例》的角度而言,在住用處所進行改動及加建工程可能會引申以下問題。

根據《建築物條例》第42條施加的條件規定,環保露台及工作平台要在不被圍封的情況下,其面積才可獲豁免計入總樓面面積。如以窗、玻璃嵌板、格柵、實心牆或類似裝置把該等設施從護牆高度以上圍封,便會違反豁免的條件,並可導致違反《建築物條例》。

如有關工程涉及建築物結構,或導致處所的天然照明及通風不足,或令作為出口樓梯組成部分的露台違反消防安全規定等,則安裝窗、格柵及/或玻璃嵌板以圍封露台(即環保露台以外的露台)/外廊不會獲得接受。然而,安裝可開啟的窗以圍封露台/外廊(不適用於環保露台/工作平台及作為出口樓梯組成部分的露台)可能獲得接受,條件是:

  • 有關工程並不涉及建築物結構(例如不會移除或改動露台/外廊的結構構件);
  • 不會改動或移除原來批准的以護牆或鐵欄形式造成的防護欄障;
  • 可開啟的窗符合《建築物(規劃)規例》所訂有關於天然照明及通風的規定;
  • 有關工程是按照「小型工程監管制度」的簡化規定進行的。

拆除圍封廚房的牆把廚房改建為開放式廚房,可能會因涉及結構構件而違反《建築物條例》。此外,如果改建為開放式廚房的位置接近單位的主要逃生出口,則工程亦可能違反消防安全規定,並對有關處所的佔用人及同一幢樓宇的其他佔用人構成安全風險。

拆除住用處所內間隔牆須符合各建築物規例所訂明的建築標準,包括不得涉及樓宇的結構。

在住用處所內豎設間隔牆須符合各建築物規例所訂明的建築標準,包括間隔牆不能令樓宇負荷過重,亦不能影響火警逃生途徑。

豎設天台構築物(包括花棚)須符合各建築物規例所訂明的建築標準,包括天台構築物不能令樓宇負荷過重,亦不能影響火警逃生途徑。如天台在設計上是用作火警庇護處,這類構築物亦不可違反消防安全規定,也不得對同一樓宇的佔用人構成安全風險。

此外,在處所進行改動及加建工程前,業主和佔用人亦應遵從其他規定,例如大廈公契。如擬進行的工程涉及樓宇的公用部分,應在進行工程前,先行徵求業主立案法團、互助委員會或管理公司(視乎何者適用)同意。

除了須符合首段有關向屋宇署遞交申請的程序要求外,樓宇公用部分的改動工程亦應符合《建築物條例》及其規例訂明的樓宇標準,如不會令樓宇負荷過重、火警時不會影響逃生途徑等。業主或佔用人應就擬進行的改動工程在符合《建築物條例》的可行性,諮詢建築專業人士。

此外,進行改動工程前,業主和佔用人亦應查看大廈公契有否訂明任何限制,並應徵求業主立案法團、互助委員會或管理公司同意。

返回頁首